Home

Monge! Monge!

 

I like food.  Period.  It’s delicious, nutritious, comforting and can be exciting.  I like Serbian food too.  From the first time I was served it a love affair was born.  For the most part it is peasant food.  Very hearty, very rich and loaded with protein and starch.  A real meat and potatoes kind of food.  While traveling through Serbia I was treated to this food at every house we visited and stayed at, mostly the same menu.  I think there are really only 7 different dishes.  Even while visiting Serbian family in Amsterdam we got the same.  Mind you, it was delicious and I liked it very much, but I need a little variety. 

Towards the tail end of the trip we met back up with Uncle V and Cousin T.  Cousin T is a tiny little thing but she can drink like a champ and she is very proud to be Serbian.  Everything there is the best.  EVERYTHING!  So, after we went out drinking into the wee hours of the morning, we hit what I would call an afterhours club/pizza stand.  I’d never seen anything  like it but they were serving food and drinks so everyone was happy.  We go in, get a table and some drinks and some people order food.  Cousin T asked me if I wanted to try Serbian pizza.  I was excited at the prospect of getting a little taste of home after a long trip, so I asked to take a bite of hers.  Now, seeing as I’m from the Chicagoland area, I am used to a certain kind of pizza; cheesy, greasy, loaded with meat, loaded with thick garlicy sauce, cut into squares and sometimes DEEEEEEP.  So, I was skeptical to say the least.  Even in my drunken haze I still had enough sense about me to doubt this pizza.  But I was a sport and went on ahead.  I was assured by Cousin T that it was great, way better than in Chicago.  I get the slice, take a bite and force a grin while I choke it down.   The crust/cheese combo was kind of like eating the greasy pizza box with some left over cheese stuck to it.  There was no sauce on the slice, at all.  Cousin T grabbed a bottle of ketchup and started dumping it all over her slice while I sat there horrified.  Evidently they save money on sauce by forcing the public to drench their pizza in ketchup.  I had to pass on the rest of the slice, which was a first for me.  Pizza is kinda like sex, even when its bad it’s still pretty good.  But not in this case.  Cousin T told me I was crazy and didn’t know what I was talking about.  Maybe so.  Maybe I don’t know good pizza when I eat it.  But I know this:  KETCHUP DOES NOT BELONG ON PIZZA!! 

VIVA CHICAGO!!!

14 thoughts on “Late Night Pie

  1. In Serbian grocery stores, you can buy “Pizza Ketchup” in handy one-slice’s-worth packets as well as larger sizes. My family to this day sighs for the good old days when they used to make homemade pizza with ketchup at home. Ewwww.

  2. Its all in personal taste, HOWEVER you when to a wrong and cheep place prob. I never tasted anything like that and thats not a pizza!! And what do you think fruit is ok on pizza?? And if you dont like it you dont have to judge all Serbia by one afterhours club/pizza stand!!
    I lived in Australia for 8 years and I didnt like they pizza, but I found Italian place for an original taste, but I dont spend time lashing about Australians.

    I feel sorry for all of your family who tryed to imperss you by offering some of your food and this is what they get.

    Have a look at the link I found fo you and see for your self !:
    http://www.beoclick.com/f/Turizam-i-ugostiteljstvo/Picerije/1424/Picerija__Ortak

    Maybe you should go to a better place next time

    • True this wasn’t a four star restaurant we were at, and I’m not “lashing out at Serbs”. This is just a light-hearted look at some of the things I have been exposed to on my travels and interactions with the Serbian community. I love the Serbs and all their crazy habits!

  3. Serbian ketchup is rather similar to pizza sauce; it is NOTHING like Heinz – it is chunky and not sweet… and lastly, Serbian ketchup is way better than both pizza sauce and U.S. style ketchup. Not because it is Serbian. Bulgarian, Macedonian, Hungarian – they are all great (and similar).

    Had you tasted this “ketchup” before drawing a conclusion, I’m sure your post would have had a different ending.

    P.S. I love your blog. Keep it up.

    • I’m going to have to disagree with you there Zvonko. Serbian ketchup reminds me of tomato soup with sugar mixed into it. its so runny. I’m sure its great on fries or whatever, I was just blown away seeing it put on pizza, that’s my hang-up.

      Thanks for the well wishes.

  4. The funny thing is, the pizza in Croatia is some of the best I’ve ever had. I guess I haven’t tried Serbian pizza yet, because I would surely remember this. But it does sound like you picked the wrong place.

  5. Serbs are odd, so of course their pizza & ketchup will be too. Thanks to their ultra nationalismic ways, it’s going to be better than anything else, anywhere else 🙂 Obviously…

  6. Pingback: Man up on your pizza « They called it Promaja

Leave a Reply

