Home

Drinkie, Drinkie!

It would seem that I hit on something with the post about pizza and ketchup.  I had no idea that people were so passionate about ketchup but I got more comments about that than anything else.  I even got yelled at by my Kume while he thrust a bottle of Serbian ketchup in my face demanding I try it.  Wow.  Well, lets see if I get the same response with this little nugget. 

The title of the post is pronounced “bam-boos”.  It is a cocktail that is popular with The Wife and her friends. They drink it at most gatherings at one point or another. While in Yugo I didn’t see anyone drink it, although I wasn’t really paying attention to what people were drinking in the many, many cafes that were always full.  Bambus is basically a red wine spritzer; 50% red wine and 50% cola served on ice, and from what I’ve seen there is no specific kind of wine or cola used.   The only rule that would make sense is don’t use an expensive bottle of wine.  I’m sure that any wine aficionado out there would scream “SACRILAGE!’ at the very idea.  But it’s ok to mix with white wine with soda, so why not?  I have to mention at this point that I have never tried bambus, it just doesn’t look appealing to me.  At all.  Initially I though that this was just a drink that the wife favored.  She would only drink it at her parents house on special occasions.  The idea was further implanted because she only mixed the cola with her fathers home made wine.  Sometimes the wine can be reeeeally strong.  So, I assumed that she needed to cut the wine a bit and a pop was the closest thing at hand.  But evidently this drink is gaining an underground following, all over the world.  In doing a little research I found there is a version of this in Chile, the Czech Republic, Hungary, and all over the Balkans, there is even a facebook page devoted to it.   There are recipes for bambus all over the internet, and even some Youtube clips of people making it.  That’s a bit much, how hard is to mix two liquids?  Open bottle one, pour.  Open bottle two, pour.  Drink.  For me, the idea of Bambus is unappealing, it’s too sweet.  I like my booze to burn going down, it lets me know I’m doing it right. 

Here are some links I found on the topic.

http://www.brightestyoungthings.com/food/a-drink-a-day-bambus-or-my-youth-tasted-just-like-this/

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2004/jun/17/foodanddrink.shopping

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Bambus/25442030138

15 thoughts on “Bambus

  1. When I’m over there, I drink this from time to time as an alternative to the bevanda. Plus, it’s got the speedball combination of sugar-y caffeine and wine, and some of those late nights in summer require energy boosters.

    Rakija provides a good jolt, but for me isn’t an easy-sipping beverage, unless I’m having orahovac in the morning.

  2. Bambus is definitely not a norm to the American mind, however neither is drinking Coke with Ice Cream (aka Float) or Root Beer (yep, the Serbs don’t know it but I do! — Root Beer Float)

    Ice cream & cola?!!! That’s ODD says my Serb friend — just like bambus might be odd to you 😉

  3. Yeah, bambus is disgusting. It’s super common here in Croatia. Gemišt is better to me (white wine and mineral water) but then I hate cola anyway.

  4. Yes, the spritzer is an Austrian thing, I don’t know why they call it gemišt in Croatia. But it often seems a waste to add mineral water to some of the truly great white wines available over there. Bevanda and Bambus are made with lower-quality table wines.

  5. From my understanding, the word itself gemišt is from German. It sure sounds like it, anyway.

    I’ve never seen anyone use any of the good wine with it here, only crappier Graševina (by which I am not insulting all Graševina. *Some* of it is okay!).

    And yeah, there are some truly great wines around in Croatia, both white and red (black). In Hercegovina and Makedonija too. I like some of the wines from Mostar.

  6. Well, it’s a bit of a sore spot in some places, but Slovenian Graševina is usually better than Croatian. But while I’m waiting to get back to Croatia, I am suffering with American wine prices!

  7. Don’t think I’ve had Slovenijan Graševina but I’ll take a look. I think the Graševina here in Croatia is 75% horrible, but then there’s a magical 25% or so that’s really quite good.

    But then I’m a beer guy. When I’m not drinking my own beer (I brew at home here), it’s Velebitsko Pivo za mene.

Leave a Reply

