Home

Oh say can you see....

Happy Independence Day to all my American/Serbian brothers and sisters!  I am a couple of days early but this is my favorite holiday.  It breaks up the summer so beautifully and I need a long weekend. I didn’t get to go globe-trotting like someone on the Serbian side did recently.  She brought me back a Harley T-shirt from Dubai though so she will stay in my good graces.  For now.

As most people do this weekend I will be celebrating with family, friends, gallons of drinks/barley pops and hundreds of pounds of food.  The weather around here is supposed to be nice so I’m stoked.   On Monday we will be joining the Serbs for a barbecue.  What to bring though?  Hmmmm…..hot dogs are awesome, but this is bratwurst country.  I love brats.  Hamburgers can get to be a chore with all the toppings and grease and what not and those damn sesame seed buns!  The corn is not up yet and I refuse to eat corn on the cob from anywhere other my immediate surroundings. 

I GOT IT!!  CEVAPCICI!!

What is more American and suitable to eat than the sausage of choice for the Serbs and the entire Balkan region??  That’s a stretch I know but I am making some tonight to take with Monday.  I love them.  Cevaps and bratwurst…together at last.   

On this past Tuesday I made a small batch and actually wrote down what I was putting in them.  The wife said that it was my best batch yet.  What she had given was a back-handed compliment however because she followed with, “they remind me of my mamas hamburgers”.  Excuse me?!?!  The main reason for that was I didn’t have any lamb so it was just beef and pork.  They were pretty tasty but just not what I’m trying to accomplish. 

2 lbs. ground beef

1 lb. ground pork

2 cloves garlic

1 tsp baking powder

1 tbsp flour

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tbsp salt

1 tbsp hot paprika

This made about 22 links for me.  They were pretty big so I’m sure you could get more if you made them smaller.  And, this might be too much salt for some palettes so don’t make it a heaping tablespoon.

Leave a Reply

