Home

Logo of Red Star Belgrade

During a soccer match between Red Star Belgrade and OFK Beograd a 21-year-old fan was shot in the stomach.  He was shot in the stands during a brawl between opposing fans hooligans.  The shooting did not disrupt the game, which is the most important thing, natch.

Riots, brawls and mayhem at sporting events are certainly not exclusive to Serbia.  It is a phenomenon that is on display all over the world.  I’ve been told that is part of the fun though, merely going to a soccer game is not exciting enough.  I almost empathize with the hooligans, I’ve seen a soccer game or two and they were so boring that I wanted to punch the person next to me.  It may have been my grandma stading there at the time, I think that’s the only reason I didn’t. 

I’m glad that I don’t have to worry about this level of violence when going to a Cubs or Bears game.  The most an American fan has to worry about is a drunken boob hurling profanity and maybe a beer, then a punch.  It is embarrassing that it has to happen at all, but I can’t remember anyone ever being shot in the bleachers at Wrigley.  I consider myself a huge fan of the Chicago Bears, have been known to take the game a little too seriously, but I can tell you one thing; I’m not going to lay down my life to support the team.  That big of a fan I am not.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2010/soccer/wires/04/15/2020.ap.soc.serbia.fan.violence.0105/index.html

One thought on “Red Star, Red Blood

  1. A little piece of advice: stay away from Boston if the Red Sox make it to the post-season. There’s rioting if the team loses, same rioting if they win. In fact, I’m pretty sure the last “Sox-related” death was a shooting after they finally won that World Series.

    My car still has a few dents from trying to park in Boston during playoffs against the Yankees 6 years ago. I was rammed intentionally, just for having NY tags. You’re safer in New York, where people have too many other things to worry about than the Red Sox.

Leave a comment